“The L.A. Spoken Photograph” by Christian Elder

“The LA Spoken photograph was inspired by a terrific documentary called “A Great Day in Harlem”. And that documentary was about a day when several great jazz musicians gathered to pose for one photograph on a stoop in Harlem, New York. And these were guys like Count Basie, Thelonious Monk, Charlie Mingus, all the greats basically. So I’m looking at this movie in my tiny apartment in Hollywood and I can’t help thinking that this same idea could theoretically apply to the LA poetry community. So I started putting the wheels in motion, assembled a team, and produced the event. And as far as gathering the participants, I made so many contacts running the Lollapalooza slams that all I needed to do was open my phone book and get on the horn. But the idea truly took on a life of its own, people gravitated to it; I was merely a conduit. What I’m really proud of is that I helped bring together a wildly diverse group of spoken word artists ranging from Ellyn Maybe, to Dr. Mongo, Larry Hankin, The Carma Bums, the late Merilene Murphy, and the legendary Watts Prophets.” –  Christian Elder(read more)

 

About Yvonne de la Vega

Poet & Thinker. Joker. Laugher. Part time safe trickster. Visionary for Peace On Earth, Favorite quote: Love is all we need Message: Visualize Peace Visit my website at http://www.yvonnedelavega.com

Leave a Reply

