I have known of Iris Berry for years but never had the opportunity to get to know her until recently. Iris is a poet rock star and was also my first choice when selecting fellow poets to be with me in the upcoming “Sextet” project with Ray Manzarek,the particulars of which you can get here, but I will expound on it when we start rehearsals in December.

Visit her website: http://www.irisberry.com and her blog Bad Girls Go To Hell. Here’s the Poem in its entirety, but more from her and her blog comrades at Bad Girls Go To Hell.

Iris Berry mixed media by Yvonne de la Vega

 

THE PAST TWO YEARS

by Iris Berry

 

In the past two years

I’ve learned

that just because you’re

loyal, honest and devoted

doesn’t mean

it will be reciprocated

that sometimes,

sadly

no good deed

goes unpunished

and most movies

do not resemble

real life

especially the ones

with big budgets

and what my Grandmother’s

told me about men

is true

I’ve also learned

that no matter how much

you know and love somebody

they can still have secrets

that could break your heart

and possibly kill you

I’ve also learned

don’t rely on fortune cookies

but never let

a good wishbone

go to waste

that nothing is personal

and everything is personal

no one is perfect

especially me

and the more mistakes

I make

the more human and nice

I am towards

you

and the more powerful

I think

I am

the more danger

I am in

I’ve learned

that everyone dies

some quickly

some slowly

so it’s best

to live

the life

you really want

it’s taken me forever

to realize

that I still haven’t

grown-up

and that

somehow I still

have the fantasy

that as long

as I am

a good person

life will get better

but what

I’ve really learned is

the clock is tick tick ticking

and maybe

I should

do my best

to leave this place

with a smile on my face

and love in my heart

for you

and for me

and maybe that’s

as good

as it gets

and if that’s the case

I will

consider myself

lucky…

 

About Yvonne de la Vega

Poet & Thinker. Joker. Laugher. Part time safe trickster. Visionary for Peace On Earth, Favorite quote: Love is all we need Message: Visualize Peace Visit my website at http://www.yvonnedelavega.com

Leave a Reply

